Howard Dunne Memorial Award

Given annually to an AASV member who has made a significant contribution and rendered outstanding service to the AASV and the swine industry.

Dr Dick Hesse received the 2018 Howard Dunne Memorial Award.

Dr. Hesse was born in Mitchell, South Dakota. He attended Huron College where he received a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1975 with a major in biology and minors in chemistry and education. From 1976 to 1979, he served as a Biological Research Assistant in the Virology Division at the United States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases, Fort Detrick, MD where he received his training in classical virology. Following his time at USAMRIID, Hesse was a research assistant in the South Dakota State University Diagnostic Laboratory's virology section until 1981 and then was a research scientist with Solvay Animal Health.

Hesse received a master's degree in 1982 from South Dakota State University and a Doctor of Philosophy Degree from the University of Nebraska in 1993. Hesse was a scientist and Group Leader in the Virology Section at Schering-Plough Animal Health until 1997 and Manager of Virology Biologics, Research and Development at Intervet until 2006. Currently, Hesse is a professor in the Department of Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiology in the College of Veterinary Medicine at Kansas State University. He is also the Director of Diagnostic Virology at the Kansas State Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory.

Hesse was awarded the Army's Distinguished Service Medal for Lassa Fever research in 1979 and the Schering-Plough Excellence Award for the development of a PRRS vaccine. Additionally, he has received the Kansas Veterinary Medical Association Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Hesse has authored or co-authored more than 50 publications, presentations, and/or patents. In addition, he has led the development of at least 12 USDA-licensed vaccines. He has been active in a number of AASV committees and currently serves on the National Pork Board Swine Health Committee.

When asked what it meant to him to receive the Howard Dunne Memorial Award he responded, "I am blessed to be able to work with so many talented and dedicated people across the swine industry. To be recognized by them is the highest honor I have ever received and it means more to me than anyone will ever know."

In 1974, Dick married Debby Anderson, his high school sweetheart. They lived a number of places but mostly raised the family in Omaha, Nebraska. They have 4 children : Chris, Josh, Jacque and Andrea, and 11 grandchildren. Sadly, Debby passed away in 2014.

Howard Dunne Memorial Award recipients:

1977   Arthur Starkey
1978   Erwin Kohler
1979   Vaylord Ladwig
1980   Wallace Brandt
1981   Martin Bergeland
1982   Bill Switzer
1983   Kirk Clark
1984   Lew Runnels
1985   Alex Hogg
1986   James Bailey
1987   Allen Leman
1988   Dick Ross
1989   Ken Meyer
1990   Delbert (Hank) Harris
1991   Roy Schultz
1992   Howard Hill
1993   LeRoy Biehl
1994   Beth Lautner
1995   Robert Glock
1996   Michael Wilson
1997   Gary Dial
1998   Pat Halbur
1999   James McKean
2000   David Reeves
2001   William Mengeling
2002   Steven Henry
2003   Robert Friendship
2004   Paul Sundberg
2005   William Brown
2006   Jim Collins
2007   S. Ernest Sanford
2008   Greg Stevenson
2009   Kent Schwartz
2010   Bob Morrison
2011   Amy Vincent
2012   Tom Stein
2013   Jeff Zimmerman
2014   Locke Karriker
2015   Rodney (Butch) Baker
2016   Scott Dee
2017   Rodger Main
2018   Dick Hesse