Swine Practitioner of the Year

Given annually to the swine practitioner (AASV member) who has demonstrated an unusual degree of proficiency and effectiveness in the delivery of veterinary service to his/her clients.

Dr Mary Battrell was named 2018 Swine Practitioner of the Year

Dr Battrell was born and raised on a family farm in Albany, OH. Her family farmed 250 - 600 acres of cropland, had a cow-calf operation, raised 250 feeder steers each year and had a 100-head farrow-to-finish swine operation. She earned a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture from The Ohio State University followed by a Master's degree in Animal Science with a focus in ruminant nutrition from the University of Tennessee. Upon graduation, she moved to Iowa and worked as a sales representative for the Upjohn Company.

Battrell earned her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine Degree and a master's degree in swine production medicine from Iowa State University in 1995. She began her veterinary career in North Carolina working for Dr. Fred Cunningham. A year later, she accepted a position with Brown's of Carolina in Kenansville, NC where she worked for three years. Following her time at Brown's, she was employed as a technical services veterinarian for Pharmacia before returning to Smithfield Hog Production at the Murphy Family Farms Rose Hill office in 2000. She is currently the staff veterinarian for Smithfield Hog Production's East Central Region and is responsible for the health and well-being of 140,000 sows farrow to finish. She has been actively involved in the development of the Smithfield Animal Care Program and serves as chair for that committee.

Asked to comment about receiving this award, Dr Battrell replied, "Swine practitioners do an excellent job of caring for their animals and providing a safe and wholesome product for the consumer. It is incredibly humbling to be selected among them for this award. God has blessed me with a loving family, outstanding mentors, and co-workers that have guided me throughout my career. I am grateful for my Smithfield team, our care givers, and contract growers that work hard every day to put the pig's needs first. I am proud to be a part of this industry. Thank you for the opportunities and for this recognition."

Dr Battrell and her husband, Wayne Banks, reside in Garland, NC with their son Don Banks.

Swine Practitioner of the Year Award recipients:

1977   C. Kent Kislingbury
1978   James Allison
1979   John Coltrain
1980   Ralph Vinson
1981   Steven Henry
1982   Rodney Johnson
1983   Jason James
1984   Wayne Brown
1985   Conrad Schmidt
1986   Roy Schultz
1987   R.F. (Dick) Taylor
1988   James Sawatsky
1989   Jim Dick
1990   Tim Loula
1991   Paul Armbrecht
1992   Don Westercamp
1993   Camille Moore
1994   Al Davis
1995   Joe Connor
1996   Scott Dee
1997   Neil Shantz
1998   Paul Yeske
1999   Randy Jones
2000   Gordon Spronk
2001   Max Rodibaugh
2002   Larry Rueff
2003   Ron Brodersen
2004   Tom Wetzell
2005   Mike Sheridan
2006   Mark FitzSimmons
2007   Bernie Curran
2008   Lisa Tokach
2009   John Waddell
2010   Tom Gillespie
2011   John E. Baker
2012   George Charbonneau
2013   Barry Kerkaert
2014   Matthew Turner
2015   Larry Coleman
2016   Luc Dufresne
2017   Michael Eisenmenger
2018   Mary Battrell