2020: A Vision for the Future!

AASV Foundation Live & Silent Fundraising Auctions
Monday, March 9, 2020
AASV's 51st Annual Meeting
Atlanta, Georgia

Donate an Auction Item

In 2019, we celebrated the 50th year since AASV’s founding. It was a great celebration and a chance to look back, enjoy the accomplishments, reminisce, and honor those who have gone before to make it all possible. Now as we plan for 2020, it is time to look to the future and the next 50 years!

The AASV Foundation was established in 1988 with an obvious “vision for the future.” Our predecessors with a vision anticipated the need to set aside funds to expand and further the work and mission of our association. Since the origins of our Foundation, the vision and mission have continued to expand.  Here is just a partial list of how our foundation is impacting the mission of AASV:

  • Administers endowments for the Howard Dunne and Alex Hogg Memorial Lectures
  • Administers the Hogg Scholarship for deserving AASV member veterinarians to pursue advanced degrees
  • Administers funding for veterinary student scholarships
  • Provides funding for AASV members pursuing board certification in the American College of Animal Welfare
  • Cosponsors travel stipends for veterinary students to attend the AASV Annual Meeting
  • Provides grants to supplement veterinary student swine-related externships
  • Administers funding for important research with direct application and benefits to our profession and swine health
  • Provides support for the awesome Heritage videos
  • Provides tuition support for veterinary students to attend the Swine Medicine Education Center to encourage the development of skills related to swine health and production
  • Administers and supports the AASV Member Student Debt Relief Scholarship funded through the Conrad Schmidt and Family Endowment

As you can see, the Foundation is always striving to fulfill its goal to "Ensure our future and create a legacy."

The mission of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation is to empower swine veterinarians to achieve a higher level of personal and professional effectiveness by:

  • enhancing the image of the swine veterinary profession,
  • supporting the development and scholarship of students and veterinarians interested in the swine industry,
  • addressing long-range issues of the profession,
  • supporting faculty and promoting excellence in the teaching of swine health and production, and
  • funding research with direct application to the profession.

While the foundation’s endowment continues to grow each year, the ongoing use of funds for our recurring efforts to fulfill the mission requires that we continue to encourage annual gifts. A great way for members to contribute has been through proceeds from the annual meeting live and silent auctions. The auctions have become an integral part of the AASV Annual Meeting, thanks to the many donors and, of course, to all of you, the bidders! 

Donate an Auction Item

The Auction Committee is reaching out to potential donors to solicit auction items and cash donations for this year's auction. Please contact any member of the committee if you would like to support the auction this year - or if you have questions or just want to discuss possibilities. Download the donation form at aasv.org/foundation/2020/Donationform.pdf and submit a description and image of your item(s) by December 1. Your contribution will be recognized in the printed auction catalog as well as on the auction website, and your name will appear in the JSHAP full-page spread recognizing all of our auction item donors. If that’s not enough, there’s a good chance you may read about your donation in the AASV e-Letter, too!

Just remember: If you don't have a vision for the future, then your future is threatened to be a repeat of the past. - A.R. Bernard

AASV Foundation Auction Committee

John Waddell and Butch Baker, co-chairs
Natalie Baker
Laura Bruner
Dyneah Classen
Joe Connor
Jack Creel
Chris Deegan
Jer Geiger
Bill Hollis
Derald Holtkamp
Daryl Olsen
Sarah Probst Miller
Nathan Schaefer
Cameron Schmitt
Chase Stahl
Jon Van Blarcom

Questions? Contact committee John Waddell (636-528-1770, john.waddell@boehringer-ingelheim.com), Butch Baker (515-520-1041, 6456butch@gmail.com) or the AASV office (515-465-5255, aasv@aasv.org).