Merck Animal Health Lends Support to Future Swine Practitioners; Announces 2019 AASVF Veterinary Scholarship Recipients

With a long-standing commitment to the education of the next generation of veterinarians, Merck Animal Health (known as MSD Animal Health outside the United States and Canada) today, in partnership with the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation (AASVF) - the charitable arm of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians - announced the 2019 recipients of the AASVF/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarships.

"Through this program, Merck Animal Health reinforces its enduring commitment to veterinary medicine and the people who will ensure the science of healthier animals now and in the years to come," said Joseph Roder, D.V.M., Director of Swine Technical Services, Merck Animal Health. "We remain dedicated to providing veterinary students with vital real-world experiences that will equip them with the skills they need to help ensure the health and well-being of animals, as well as help feed the world."

"Merck Animal Health continues to demonstrate a meaningful commitment to swine veterinarians by sponsoring these scholarships," said Tom Burkgren, D.V.M., AASV Executive Director. "This commitment elevates the mission of the AASVF by assisting veterinary students in finding and fulfilling their roles in the veterinary profession."

The recipients, who will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, are:

  • Kayla Castevens, North Carolina State University
  • Grace Elijah, Kansas State University
  • Matt Finch, Iowa State University
  • Taylor Homann, University of Minnesota
  • Sophie Leone, Colorado State University
  • Jamie Madigan, North Carolina State University
  • Elizabeth Noblett, North Carolina State University
  • Shelby Perkins, University of Missouri
  • Rachel Stika, Iowa State University
  • Zach Talbert, University of Illinois

The recipients were announced earlier today at the 50th Annual AASV Meeting in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Second-and third-year students enrolled in American Veterinary Medical Association-accredited or recognized colleges of veterinary medicine in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, South America and the Caribbean Islands are eligible for the scholarship. Learn more at