AASV news

AASV Award nominations

Do you know an AASV member whose dedication to the association and the swine industry is worthy of recognition? The AASV Awards Committee requests nominations for three awards to be presented at the upcoming AASV annual meeting in Orlando. The awards are:

Swine Practitioner of the Year. Given annually to the private practitioner (AASV member) who has demonstrated an unusual degree of proficiency in the delivery of veterinary service to his or her clients.

Howard Dunne Memorial Award. Given annually to an AASV member who has made a significant contribution and rendered outstanding service to the AASV and the swine industry.

Meritorious Service Award. Given annually to an individual who has consistently given time and effort to the association in the area of service to the AASV members, AASV officers, and the AASV staff.

Nominations are due December 15. The nomination letter should specify the award and cite the qualifications of the candidate for the award.
Submit to:
AASV, 902 1st Avenue
Perry, IA 50220
Fax: 515-465-3832
E-mail: aasv@aasv.org.

Request for PRRS research proposals

Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc (BIVI) announces it is seeking research study proposals investigating the mystery of porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome (PRRS).

For the fifth consecutive year, BIVI will provide three $25,000 awards through its 2007 Advancement in PRRS Research Awards program to swine practitioners, diagnosticians, or public and private researchers to investigate new ways to diagnose, control, and eradicate this costly swine disease. The awards are presented during the AASV conference. Proposals are selected by an independent review board on the basis of established criteria, including economic impact to the swine industry, originality and scientific quality, and probability of success in completing the year-long study.

Since 2003, BIVI has awarded more than $200,000 in PRRS research awards. The 2006 recipients include Jeff Zimmerman, DVM, PhD, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa; Claudia Muñoz-Zanzi, DVM, PhD, University of Minnesota, St Paul, Minnesota; and Scott Dee, DVM, MS, PhD, Swine Disease Eradication Center, University of Minnesota, St Paul, Minnesota.

These research studies were selected for their ability to help enhance PRRS technology for practical application in the management and possible eradication of the disease. Proposals were submitted by graduate students, academic researchers, companies, and private researchers, as well as practicing veterinarians.

Send a complete proposal submission on a year-long research project by January 1, 2007, with a cover sheet, curriculum vitae, and two letters of recommendation to:
Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc
Attn: Trudy Luther
“The Advanced PRRS Research Award” 5506 Corporate Dr, Suite 1600
St Joseph, MO 64507-7752

For more information and complete submission instructions, please visit www.PRRSresearch.com.