AASV Foundation News
AASV Foundation prepares for annual auction

In preparation for the AASV Foundation Auction during the 2010 AASV Annual Meeting in Omaha, Nebraska, the AASV Foundation named the following AASV members to the auction committee: Matt Anderson, Butch Baker, John Baker, Joe Connor, Scott Dee, Tom Gillespie, Peggy Anne Hawkins, Randy Jones, Darrell Neuberger, Daryl Olsen, Max Rodibaugh, Larry Rueff, Paul Ruen, Gordon Spronk, and Tom Wetzell. The committee is co-chaired by Rod Johnson and Warren Wilson, with support from the AASV staff.

The 2009 auction raised $67,000. These funds support programs sponsored by the foundation, including research projects, veterinary-student scholarships, the Alex Hogg Memorial Scholarship, Swine Externship Grants, student stipends to attend the annual meeting, and the Heritage Award among others.

Rod and Warren challenged the committee members to seek out some unique and fun items for the 2010 auction and, as always, they came through. Now, all that’s left is for you to show up on Monday night at the 2010 AASV Annual Meeting and bid generously. Remember, this is your foundation, and your donations support programs directed at furthering the swine veterinary profession through research and scholarships.

You’ve shown tremendous support over the years and 2010 is likely to be no different. See you all in Omaha!

AASV Foundation requests research proposals

As part of its mission to fund research with direct application to the profession, the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation (AASVF) seeks research proposals for funding in 2010. Proposals are due February 1, 2010, and may request a maximum of $6000 (US$) per project. The selection and announcement of projects for funding will take place in March.

Proposed research must fit into one of the five action areas in the AASVF mission statement (see sidebar).

Proposals must also contain the following:

1. Identification of the issue

2. Background information

3. Description of the project

4. Timeline

5. Budget

6. Plan to apply results for maximum return to swine veterinarians, veterinary students, or both.

No project timeline is to exceed 12 months. A final report will be due within 60 days of stated project completion. For more information, or to submit a proposal, contact:

AASV Foundation, 830 26th Street, Perry, IA 50220; Tel: 515-465-5255; Fax: 515-465-3832; E-mail: aasv@aasv.org.

NPIF veterinary internship stipend recipients announced

The AASV Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2009-2010 National Pork Industry Foundation (NPIF) veterinary internship stipends. Six first- and second-year veterinary students were selected from a pool of 59 applicants to receive the $3300 stipends. The recipients are Emily Gordon, Purdue University; Timothy Krebs, Cornell University; Michelle Monson, Iowa State University; Lincoln Montgomery-Rodgers, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine; Laurel Wegener, University of Nebraska; and Charlotte Wellen, University of Illinois.

The NPIF veterinary internship stipend program, now in its second year, links each recipient with a swine practitioner-mentor with whom they will spend a 1-month internship during the summer of 2010. The NPIF stipend of $3300 per student defrays the cost of travel, lodging, and compensation during the 1-month internship. Additionally, the interns are encouraged to utilize their practitioner-mentor as a resource throughout the year, and to attend the AASV Annual Meeting and Leman Swine Conference in an effort to increase their knowledge and exposure to swine medicine. Each intern submits a written report and evaluation upon completion of the program.

The AASV Student Recruitment Committee developed the NPIF veterinary internship stipend program in an effort to attract veterinary students to swine medicine and to provide interested students with exposure to the life of a swine veterinarian. Funding for the program – $20,000 per year for 3 years – was provided by the NPIF, a charitable corporation that promotes activities in the swine industry related to research and education. The funds are administered by the AASV Foundation.

Swine veterinarians invited to apply for Hogg Scholarship

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation is pleased to offer the Hogg Scholarship, established to honor the memory of longtime AASV member and swine industry leader Dr Alex Hogg. Applications for the $10,000 scholarship will be accepted until February 1, 2010, and the scholarship recipient will be announced on March 7 during the Foundation Luncheon at the AASV 2010 Annual Meeting in Omaha.

The intent of the scholarship is to assist a swine veterinarian in his or her efforts to return to school for graduate education (resulting in a master’s degree or higher) in an academic field of study related to swine health and production.

Dr Alex Hogg’s career serves as the ideal model for successful applicants. After 20 years in mixed-animal practice, Dr Hogg pursued a master’s degree in veterinary pathology. He subsequently became Nebraska swine extension veterinarian and professor at the University of Nebraska. Upon “retirement,” Dr Hogg capped off his career with his work for MVP Laboratories. Always an enthusiastic learner, at age 75 he graduated from the Executive Veterinary Program offered at the University of Illinois.

The scholarship application requirements are outlined below and on the AASV Web site at http://www.aasv.org/foundation/hoggscholarship.htm.

Hogg Scholarship application requirements

An applicant for the Hogg Scholarship shall have:

  • Five or more years of experience as a swine veterinarian, either in a private practice or in an integrated production setting.
  • Five or more years of continuous membership in the AASV.

Each applicant is required to submit the following for consideration as a Hogg Scholar:

  • Current curriculum vitae.
  • Letter of intent detailing his or her plans for graduate education and future plans for participation and employment within the swine industry.
  • Two letters of reference from AASV members attesting to the applicant’s qualifications to be a Hogg Scholar.

Applications and requests for information may be addressed to the AASV Foundation, 830 26th Street, Perry, IA 50220; Tel: 515-465-5255; E-mail: aasv@aasv.org.