Brief communication

September and October, 1998

AASP Pork Producer Partnerssm activities

1998 World Pork Expo highlights

The AASP was well represented at this year's World Pork Expo, held June 4-6 in Des Moines, Iowa. For the fourth year running, we exhibited at Expo, where we had the opportunity to visit with swine producers and veterinarians from around the world. As in past years, our main focus at this event was to stimulate interest and awareness about our organization and what services AASP members can provide. Expo also provides an opportunity for us to educate producers and others on a variety of topics and issues. This year we had available for distribution at the AASP booth a myriad of educational items, including back issues of Swine Health and Production, Pork TV videotapes, Pork Production videotapes, euthanasia brochures, boar stud guidelines, AASP membership applications (for veterinarians only), Swine Health and Production subscription forms, producer brochures with information about our organization, NPPC brochures on packing plant changes affecting pork producers, plus literature on various swine health and production-related topics. In addition, we participated along with other Pork Producer Partners in recognizing the approximately 925 PQA Level III producers who attended Expo by providing them with a special gift.

Our participation in Expo requires a cooperative effort by our membership. Special thanks this year go to AASP Administrative Assistant Sue Schulteis and her husband, Dr. Lee Schulteis, for setting up our booth and materials, and to Dr. John Kolb and assistants Amy Den Herder and Kevin Karhoff for organizing literature and staffing for the booth. Thanks also to the following AASP members who signed on to work in the booth: Drs. Jack Andersen, Dave Baum, Bill Brown, Joe Campbell, Terry Cowan, Scott Dee, Mike Dierenfeld, Doug Groth, Thayer Hoover, Doug Kern, Colin Kirkegaard, Dale Mechler, Brian Roggow, Kent Schwartz, Mike Senn, Brad Thacker, John Waddell, Don Walter, Ron White, Clyde Wilson, Arlen Wonderlich, Paul Yeske, and Jeff Zimmerman.

--contributed by Dr. Teddi Wolff,
AASP Public Relations Committee