AASV Foundation Hogg Scholars

Established in 2008, the scholarship is named for Dr. Alex Hogg who was a leader in swine medicine and pursued a master’s degree in veterinary pathology after 20 years in a mixed-animal practice. The scholarship is awarded annually to an AASV member who has been accepted into a qualified graduate program to further his or her education after years as a swine practitioner.

Dr. Chris Rademacher was named the 2015 recipient of the AASV Foundation Hogg Scholarship.

Dr. Rademacher earned his DVM from the University of Minnesota in 1998. Following graduation, he joined New Fashion Pork as the staff veterinarian and service manager. He became the Director of Health Services and spent 10 years with the company before joining Murphy-Brown Western Operations as Director of Production Improvement. In December 2014, he accepted the position of Swine Extension Veterinarian at Iowa State University (ISU). He recently enrolled in the Masters in Veterinary Preventive Medicine program at ISU under Dr Jeff Zimmerman.

Rademacher recently received a grant to study porcine epidemic diarrhea virus (PEDV) vaccination and immunity. The objective of the study is to evaluate the production benefit of vaccination in an endemically infected sow herd. In addition, the project will attempt to correlate PEDV immunity with productionimpacts including pre-wean mortality and weaning weight. When asked about the significance of the scholarship, Dr. Rademacher said, "It is indeed anhonor and a humbling privilege to be awarded this scholarship that bears the name of one of the legends of swine production medicine. Alex is an enspiration to many of us who want to give back to an industry that has so richly blessed us, and this award allows me to continue my lifelong learning as Alex so wonderfully modeled in his lifetime. I am so thankful to the Hogg family for sponsoring this award annually to swine veterinarians who want to continue their education."

Alex Hogg Scholar Recipients

2008   Christa Irwin
2009   Phil Gauger
2010   Eric Neumann
2011   Jeremy Pittman
Alex Ramirez
2012   Tim Snider
2013   Meghann Pierdon
2015   Chris Rademacher