Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year

Given annually to a swine veterinarian who is an AASV member, 5 years or less post-graduation, who has demonstrated the ideals of exemplary service and proficiency early in his/ her career.

The 2019 Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year is Dr Paul Thomas.

Dr. Thomas grew up on a farrow to finish swine and row-crop farm near Camanche, Iowa. Family has made a large impact on his career choices. His father encouraged all Thomas children to learn as much science as possible. He has three brothers and a sister-in-law who are all veterinarians; spending time with his older brother, Pete, in the Iowa State University Veterinary Diagnostic Lab solidified his interest in veterinary medicine.

Dr Thomas received a Bachelor of Science in animal science (2009), Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (2013), and a Master of Science in veterinary preventive medicine (2015), all from Iowa State University. He also completed a post-doctoral fellowship with the Swine Medicine Education Center (SMEC) and AMVC Management Services as an associate veterinarian, where he is currently still employed.

At AMVC, Dr Thomas works with sow farms and grow finish pigs within the AMVC system, consults with clients, and supports SMEC operations by teaching 4th year veterinary students and conducting PigPROS seminars to introduce industry stakeholders to the process and constraints of modern pork production. Early in his career, Dr Thomas is a respected role model for students, colleagues, and other young swine veterinarians. As a teacher, he creates a rich, witty, and interactive learning environment for all participants. As a veterinarian, he adapts easily to provide the best service for each client and communicates in a way that caretakers, co-workers, clients, owners, and superiors can all understand, respect, and appreciate.

Upon acceptance of the award, Dr Thomas commented, "I'm very honored to receive this award. I have a great deal of respect for the AASV and my colleagues in this profession, so to be recognized by them means a lot to me. I'm very thankful to the veterinarians and staff I work with at AMVC and SMEC for the incredible mentorship and support I've received from them early in my career and to my wife, Jennifer, for her constant support."

His wife, Jennifer, says, "I am so proud of my husband. As his wife, I know how dedicated he is to his profession, job, and clients. Paul always strives to do the maximum in whatever he is trying to achieve and always puts his clients and others first."

Thomas and Jennifer have a 1-year-old son, Augustin (Gus), and live in Audubon, Iowa.

Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year Award recipients:

2008   Jason Kelly
2009   Mike Pierdon
2010   Michelle Sprague
2011   Marlin Hoogland
2012   Deborah Murray
2013   Amber Stricker
2014   Aaron Lower
2015   Megan Inskeep
2016   Chase Stahl
2017   Joshua Ellingson
2018   Adam Schelkopf
2019   Paul Thomas